Australian Detective Show Darby and Joan Coming To Acorn TV

Australian Detective Show “Darby and Joan” Coming To Acorn TV

A new Australian road trip series titled “Darby and Joan” starring Emmy-nominated actor Bryan Brown (Cocktail, Breaker Morant) and Emmy-winning actress Greta Scacchi (The Player, Emma) is coming to Acorn TV on August 8, 2022. Two episodes will premiere weekly on Mondays through August 29.

As the series opens, retired Australian homicide detective Jack Darby (Brown) has taken to the open road with his dog Diesel to flee his past, while recently widowed English nurse Joan Kirkhope (Scacchi) is on a reluctant pilgrimage to find answers about her husband’s mysterious death.

They couldn’t be more different: the low key, ruggedly charming Aussie and the tightly-wound, yet warm, witty and determined Englishwoman, but when they collide in the Australian outback, and become drawn into a series of unexpected mysteries, this unlikely investigative duo soon realize the most intriguing puzzle they face is each other.

Filmed in Queensland, Australia, Darby and Joan is executive produced by Claire Tonkin (My Life is Murder), David Hannam (Secret Bridesmaid’s Business), Matt Campbell, Bea Tammer and Catherine Mackin, with series producer Pino Amenta (Five Bedrooms, Wentworth) and supervising producer Toni Malone (My Life Is Murder).

The series’ creators are Glenys Rowe and Phillip Gwynne, and its writers are Paul Bennett, Keith Thompson, Andrew Anastasios, Giula Sandler, David Hannam, Adam Zwar, Beck Cole, and Ainslie Clouston. The set-up director is David Caesar and the directors are Ben C. Lucas, Mairi Cameron and Jo O’Shaughnessy. The series is produced by CJZ, with major production investment from Screen Australia in association with Screen Queensland.


Mystery Tribune’s coverage of latest and most notable news in crime, mystery and thriller space is available here. For Acorn TV coverage, please visit here.

Log In


Sign up for updates and we'll send you an exclusive story by one of our Edgar-nominated authors.